Space-based geodetic measurement techniques such as Interferometric Synthetic Aperture Radar (InSAR), Differential Global Positioning System (DGPS), and image pixel tracking have recently become critical additions to our toolset for understanding earthquakes, volcanic eruptions, and other natural hazards.

Geodetic imaging’s unique ability to capture surface deformation caused by earthquakes and subsurface magma movement with high spatial and temporal resolution has revolutionized both earthquake science and volcanology. Analyses of these data sets are typically handcrafted following each event and are not generated rapidly and reliably enough for response to natural disasters.


The Advanced Rapid Imaging and Analysis (ARIA) Project will bring geodetic imaging capabilities to an operational level in support of local, national, and international hazard science and response communities.

The Advanced Rapid Imaging and Analysis (ARIA) Project, a joint effort of California Institute of Technology (Caltech) and the Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL), is developing the infrastructure to generate imaging products in near real-time that can improve situational awareness for disaster response. The ARIA Project is also developing provide automated imaging and analysis capabilities necessary to keep up with the increase in raw data from geodetic imaging missions planned for launch by NASA, as well as international space agencies.


David Bekaert
David Bekaert
Project Scientist and Science Product Lead
Hook Hua
Hook Hua
Data System Lead
Sang-Ho Yun
Sang-Ho Yun
Disaster Response Lead

Advisory Board
Jennifer Cruz Sue Owen Paul Rosen
Mark Simons Frank Webb

Current Members
Alphan Altinok Nicholas Arena Brian Bue
Luciana Cendon Ryan Constantino Alex E Dunn
Eric Fielding Emre Havazli Jungkyo Jung
Mohammed Karim Madeline Lambert Cunren Liang
Zhen Liu Marjorie Lucas Paul Lundgren
Namrata Malarout Gerald Manipon Angelyn Moore
Lei Pan Giangi Sacco Simran Sangha
Alexander Torres Zhangfan Xing Andrew Zhang

Former Members
Piyush Agram Michael Aivazis Rowan E Biessel (intern)
Adam Brackman (intern) Rebecca Butcher (intern) Lan Dang
Tom Farr Eric Gurrola Monghan Huang
Joseph Jacob Emmy Killet Judy Lai-Norling
Justin Linick Pietro Milillo Jascha Polet
Costin Radulescu Michael Starch Timothy Stough